Being Sick is Stupid

It is a truly beautiful day outside: sunny, warm, slightly breezy. So, what am I doing? Sitting on the couch in sweatpants and a Disney shirt, wrapped in a blanket, and drinking tea. Oh, I’m also coughing and sneezing and blowing my nose. Being sick is stupid.

To be fair, it’s only a cold, and a relatively mild one at that. I don’t have a fever, I’ve mostly been able to sleep, and my throat isn’t so raw and sore that I’ve developed the dreaded bubble. (You know, when you feel like you have a bubble in your throat that you just can get rid of. It’s the absolute worst.) Sure, my glands are swollen and tender and it stinks not being able to breathe through your nose, but it’s all pretty tolerable. And, this is really the first time I’ve been sick all winter (I had a really fast, mild cold a few months ago).

Thinking about it, I haven’t been really sick for a few years. Sure, I’ve gotten a cold here and there, but the last time I was completely-out-of-commission sick was a few years ago when I got a killer stomach virus. I’ll save you the gory details, but it wasn’t pretty. Or, fun. It took a couple of weeks to feel 100% again.

So, why do I think it’s been years since I’ve been sick? I don’t get flu shots (though, I’m not opposed to the idea) and, because I’m so small and don’t tend to react well, I don’t really take any medications. So, what is it? Not to sound too hippy-dippy, but I contribute my relatively good health to a pretty clean diet. Eating clean is such a trendy thing now and I don’t want to say that I follow a strict “clean diet” (honestly, I don’t even know what all of the components of it are), but I do eat mostly fresh food and avoid a lot of processed things. We eat and cook lots of different vegetables and a variety of proteins. Though I do love dairy products, our usual meals are far from dairy-heavy. Also, since The Dude is still mostly gluten-free, we don’t rely on (usually) overly processed bread products to round out meals.

That isn’t to say that I don’t eat bread, sweets, a block of cheese, or marshmallows (and not the fancy kind) if I want, but I do eat everything in moderation. We are mindful about the things we cook and about getting a variety of everything in our diet. I think that’s the key, really: moderation and variety. And, as fresh as possible.

Leave a Reply

