Image

Light and Dark

Sometimes, I use part of my lunch break to take a short walk around campus. It’s nice to get out of my (currently windowless) office and into the fresh air. It’s particularly nice on days like today when my walk in was all steel gray skies, humidity, and spitting rain. Walking by one of the arches, I was struck by the juxtaposition of darkness and light as I went to walk through the arch and back onto the campus proper.

14384066465_47d6f597b7_z

Peeking Through the Arch

This picture makes me think about education, formal or informal, in the simplest and most ideal sense: walking from the darkness of ignorance and incomprehension into the light of knowledge and know-how. I like the idea of education being a threshold, where you can choose to expand your knowledge in a certain area or remain limited and turn back, ready to focus your attention elsewhere.

One thought on “Light and Dark

Leave a Reply

