Books: Bigger on the Inside

“You want weapons? We’re in a library. Books are the best weapon in the world. This room’s the greatest arsenal we could have. Arm yourself!” – Doctor Who, Doctor Who “Tooth and Claw”

The Dude and I recently started watching Doctor Who (yes, yes, I’m quite late to the party) and am really enjoying it. I won’t say it’s an obsession (yet), but the show is quite a lot of fun and fills the supernatural, campy hole left by Warehouse 13 and Eureka (and, naturally, Buffy). The above quote is from an episode we watched on Sunday and is particularly appropriate given that yesterday was was International Literacy Day. This year, the focus was “literacy and sustainable development,” emphasizing the key role that literacy plays in social and human development.

Indeed, I can’t imagine life without books, without reading. I’ve always been a reader with varied tastes, though I tend to prefer fantasies (both YA and adult) and mysteries (particularly those set in London). I really like books with some sort of supernatural element; I’m currently reading and loving The Dresden Files. I also love historical fiction, particularly when the stories involve well-known, real people. Really, unless the book is what I considered poorly written, I’m willing to give it a shot. Well, unless it’s a romance novel. I just can’t get into them. Even Outlander, a book that appeals to me on so many levels, was impossible for me to slog through due to the too-much-a-romance-novel aspect of it.

I love that you have so many options with books, that I can simultaneously be reading about a wizard fighting a werewolf (well, a loup garou) and the mistakes women make in their careers and a Walt Disney biography. I love that I don’t have to pick just one of those things, and that I can give up on any of them whenever I want. I love that I can go on different adventures and learn new things and improve my vocabulary all while drinking a cup of tea.

Books: Making my life better, one word at a time.

Leave a Reply

