Farsickness

I’m restless.

I’m almost always restless, my mind wandering to and longing for places far from here. This time of year is particularly bad, though. The holidays are a draining time for me and I’m not a fan of the cold (okay, I mostly hate the cold, particularly if it snows). So, mid-January is often filled with thoughts of different places, imaginings of the life that The Dude and I could have in those places.

Though I’ve never lived anywhere else, Pennsylvania has never really felt like home. I’ve always imagined that I’m meant to live somewhere else. I’m not quite sure where that is (though, even with the less-than-ideal weather, I’d love to give London a try!), I just know that it’s not in the Northeastern US. There’s much to love about this region, but it’s not for me.

Or, maybe I’m just tired of it.

In any case, I’m restless and dreaming of our next vacation. There are so many places I’ve never been, but that I’m anxious to see. Here are five of them:

  1. Denmark:
    Between castles, sweeping countrysides, wild-looking forests, and beaches, I want to go everywhere and see everything. Oh, and eat until I burst.
  2. Petra, Jordan:
    An ancient city carved into cliffs, Petra also looks like something out of a fairy tale. Or, at least like somewhere in Middle Earth. (“Speak friend and enter”?)
  3. Ireland:
    The Giants Causeway, the Book of Kells, and THE CLIFFS OF INSANITY (aka, The Cliffs of Moher). Enough said.
  4. Isle of Skye, Scotland:
    Any places with fairy pools is a place that I need to go.
  5. Santorini, Greece:
    Just looking at pictures makes some tension melt from my shoulders. Plus, I can only imagine how good the seafood is.

Word of the day: Fernweh, a German word that describes the longing one feels for  distant places, the craving for travel.

Yup, that pretty much sums it up.

One thought on “Farsickness

Leave a Reply

