The Weight of Winter

I’m… not a fan of the winter. Unless I’m sitting on the couch, wrapped in a blanket, holding a mug of tea in one hand and book in the other, I don’t like the cold. I don’t like the way it steals my breath and chaps my skin. I hate that my hair become electric, constantly standing on end, and that I shock myself every time I open my office door.

Don’t even get me started on the snow. The ordeal of shoveling and scraping and sliding, is something I dread every year (even when The Dude does most of the shoveling!). Plus, the black, half-melted snow just makes everything feel… dirty.

Still, it can be kind of lovely, can’t it? The way it swirls and twirls toward the earth, weightless until it piles into a heavy, sparkling mass. The way, just for a short time, the world is wrapped in softness and glitter and quiet.

Falling Snow

Even so, I’m glad this picture was taken years ago, not last night. I know what the forecasts and almanacs have said, but I’m hoping for a snow free winter. A girl can dream, right?

3 thoughts on “The Weight of Winter

  1. GirlAstray says:

    You captured it in a very beautiful way, I like it 🙂 I´m hoping to get some snow these days, completely opposite!

Leave a Reply

