Paging, or The Great Book Hunt

It’s the first week of classes and things are absolutely crazy. I mean, they always are, so I shouldn’t be surprised, but this semester seems especially bad. Maybe it’s because we’re in the midst of a number of intense projects? Or, maybe it’s because our staffing levels seem especially up-in-the-air? Or, maybe it’s just extra crazy.

Whatever the reason, I’ve been running around a lot more than usual. One of the things I’ve needed to do is get the paging done. What’s paging you ask? Well, my friends, it’s a bit like a treasure hunt: In the library, the pager is the person who looks at all of the requests for books/loanable items (in our case, from other libraries, not our own patrons), finds them in the stacks, and sends them where they need to do.

Some people really hate paging, but I kind of enjoy it. I like having the opportunity to get up from my desk and do something that doesn’t require much thought beyond, “Oh, hey! This is how the alphabet and call numbers work!” I like the satisfaction that comes with finding books that have been misplaced. And, I really like having the chance to explore our (admittedly great) collection.

 

Books and Tsums

Library books, personal book, and Disney Tsum Tsums make for great table decorations.

Our library collections are a great perk of working at the college. At any given time, I have between 10 and 20 books checked out. Most of them, to The Dude’s chagrin, are sitting on our coffee table. At least The Dude arranged them nicely the last time he cleaned?

With the way things are looking,  I’ll probably have to page again tomorrow. Oh well, it’s a nice break from the monotony of my usual managerial work. Plus, I may find a new book or three…

Leave a Reply

